Home | Officers & Directors | Calendar | Grassroots Report | Workshops | Legislation | Discussion Forum | Convention | NATaT | Taxes |
Officers Handbook | Committees | Zoning | Technical Assistance | Awards | History | Videos | Contact


Officers & Directors
Grassroots Reports
Officers Handbook
Discussion Forum
Hot Topic Alert
ND Century Code
Technical Assistance
Contractor Services
State Bonding Fund
Livestock Operations


Grassroots Leadership Award

In 1987, NDTOA established the Mr. Township Award which was dedicated to the founder of our organization - Hank Weber of Casselton, North Dakota.  The name of the award was later changed to the Grassroots Leadership Award to recognize the many female township officers in our state.

This award was presented to a township officer who, through his or her actions, had served their township, their community and/or their state with exceptional service.

The first recipient was Jim Braaten from Crary, Ramsey County, in 1987. Click here to see all past Mr. Township/Grassroots Leadership Award recipients.


2019 Grassroots Leadership Award:
Township Officers of Roland Township - Mike Hall & Vern Jacobson
get Grassroots Leadership Award

For the first time the Grassroots Leadership Award has been given to two officers because of their team efforts to secure funding for a paving project at Lake Metigoshe, in Bottineau County.

About 11 miles of road around Lake Metigoshe were originally paved in 1998 and now needed extensive upkeep and repaving at a cost of $2.6 million. Township Officers, Mike Hall and Vern Jacobson worked to convince Bottineau County to pledge $500,000 to the project. At their request, Representative Dick Anderson introduced HB 1322 in the 2017 legislative session which helped clear the way for the Township to bond for the project. Between the county grant and the bonding ability they were able to put together a proposal that could get the needed approval of 60% of affected landowners.

Pictured left to right: Lt. Governor Brett Sanford, Mike Hall and NDTOA President Roger Olafson. Not pictured Vern Jacobson.


Legislator of the Year Award

Legislative success requires friends in the legislative arena. This award program was established to reward, on an annual basis, one of those legislators who have been of great help to the NDTOA.

These awards are given at the annual meeting awards banquet. Each winner has a chance to be recognized in the presence of as many township officers as are assembled at the annual meeting and convention. The award recipient is given a plaque and are invited to address the NDTOA membership.

The qualifications to receive this award depend on if the legislator has been a repeated sponsor, co-sponsor or defended in committee or on the floor of their house, township endorsed bills.

Senator David O’Connell, a township officer from the Lansford area, was the first award winner. Click here to see all past Legislator of the Year recipients.

2019 Legislator of the Year:
Senator Gerald Klein named NDTOA Legislator of the Year for 2019

Gerald (Jerry) Klein was first elected to the ND Senate in 1997 and through the many sessions since he has been a constant supporter of ND Townships. In recognition of his dedication to rural issues Senator Klein was presented the NDTOA Legislator of the Year Award for 2019.

Senator Klein represents District 14, he is the chair of the Senate Industry, Business and Labor Committee, a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee and he is the Assistant Majority Leader of the Senate.

He and his wife Bev live in Fessenden where he owned a grocery store for 35 years; they have four children and 10 grandchildren.



NDTOA President's Award

In 2016, the NDTOA Board of Directors created the President's Award as a way to recognize exemplary contribution by individuals that are not elected officials.  Willie Huot, Grand Forks, was the first award winner. Click here to see all past Presidents Award recipients.

2019 President's Award:
Denise Brown receives the NDTOA President’s Award

"For exhibiting the highest standards of dedication, ability and service as an Honorary Township Officer while serving North Dakota Township Government for many years”, Denise Brown, Training Coordinator for the ND Local Technical Assistance Program, was given the North Dakota Township Officers Association’s “President's Award”.

Denise has been a frequent presenter and exhibitor at NDTOA conventions; she takes part in the NDTOA workshops; she does presentations for county association meetings; she organizes and takes part in NDLTAP training sessions for township and county personnel. For her dedicated work providing training opportunities for township officers across the state and all the miles she traveled to deliver that training, she received the award which recognizes the important contributions of someone other than an elected township officer.

Pictured here with Denise are Lt. Governor Brett Sanford on the left and NDTOA President Roger Olafson on the right.



Back to Awards




Home | Officers & Directors | Calendar | Grassroots Report | Workshops | Discussion Forum | NATaT | Convention

Taxes  | Committees | Advertise | Zoning | Technical Assistance | Awards | History | Contact


Copyright 2002- 2023 © All Rights Reserved
North Dakota Township Officers Association

Revised: Sunday March 19, 2023